Peugeot decimates Pikes Peak record

Twenty four years after it took back to back wins with Ari Vatanen and Robby Unser, Peugeot is once again the king of Pikes Peak.

Tackling the iconic hill climb with its new 208 T16 and nine-time WRC champ Sebastien Loeb, the French brand has absolutely decimated the course record to win this year’s event.

Loeb was head and shoulders above the rest of the field, completing his record-breaking run in a time of 8:13.878 – more than a minute and a half quicker than the existing course record of 9:46.164.

In an age when motorsport records are broken by tenths of a second, you can begin to appreciate the scale of Loeb’s achievement.

Loeb beat home second place getter, and last year’s winner, Rhys Millen who could only manage a time of 9:02.740, while French driver Jean-Philippe Dayraut finished third.

Sign up here to receive the latest round-up of Wheels news, reviews and video highlights straight to your inbox each week.